Weather Permitting

My favorite time of year is here. Leafy soil and morning dew gives way to frost and freshly fallen snow, and there is no place I would rather be than in the woods. There is something genuine about hunting in colder temperatures. It screams stickbow weather to me, from the majesty of the frosty woods to the stiffness in the joints. Hunting simply seems more legit when the air burns your lungs a bit.

I’ve often questioned why I feel this way. It certainly isn’t logical. Sitting in the snow with wood and feathers is a miserable affair in most respects. My toes are always cold, my mustache is a snot-cicle, and I spend the majority of my time keeping my feathers dry.

Still the allure of Mother Nature from Thanksgiving to March is too tempting to ignore. From  late season whitetails to squirrels and cottontails, the game is unimportant. They are all arrow worthy to me.

The stumping isn’t bad either, so long as you have brightly colored fletching, and avoid anything shaft-splintering.

Wintery weather also means insulated boots, gloves, hats, and heavy wool pullovers. I love hunting in cold weather gear, and can’t help but feel like Robert Redford in Jeremiah Johnson when I do. The following should illustrate my point.

MeShooting

Unfortunately, Michigan has been uncharacteristically warm the last couple seasons, which seems to make the couch-thumping Michigander ecstatic. I’ll take snow, ice, and blustering winds over rain and muck any day of the week.

Bring it on!

Do you enjoy roving or bowhunting in the winter? Tell me about it!

This entry was posted in Bowhunting, Shooting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weather Permitting

  1. Corey says:

    A couple weeks ago I would have said it was finally cooling down here in Georgia. But since then, our temps are back in the upper 60’s and low 70’s, so while I agree with you about ‘that cold weather feeling’, I haven’t yet been able to enjoy the brisk weather like I wish. On the other hand, who could really complain about weather in the 70’s?! That’d just be ungrateful of me 🙂

  2. Rob Jones says:

    I know a number of fair weather archers that venture out during the spring and summer months, only to hibernate from late October onwards.
    I love shooting in the winter months. Somewhere I have a photo of a set of arrows in the target with snow on them because it was falling so quickly.
    Happy Christmas and enjoy 2013

  3. I love hunting and stumping in the snow, there is just something awesome about it. Like you mentioned only bad thing is losing and breaking arrows. I know exactly what you mean about feeling like Jeremiah lol

Leave a Reply

